AMA Elects New Southeast Rep to Board

Results of the American Motorcyclist Association (AMA) Board of Directors election have been tabulated. Charles Goman, from Winder, Ga., has been elected to represent individual members in the Southeast region and Incumbent Stan Simpson, who ran unopposed from the South Central region, will continue to serve on the board.

Goman has been an AMA member since 1963. He is an active road and dual-sport rider and competes in vintage motocross, cross-country, trials and flat-track. He has served as an AMA congressman and is currently the president of the AMA-chartered Atlanta Motorcycle Club.

Simpson serves as the chairman of the AMA board. He also sits on the board of directors of the AMA's Motorcycle Hall of Fame Museum. He is a longtime road rider, off-road rider and racer, and has been an AMA member since 1957.

The AMA board consists of 12 members. Six individual directors represent the general membership in their respective regions; six corporate directors represent the corporate membership. All directors serve three-year terms.

The AMA Board of Directors meets four times per year. Goman will be seated at the AMA board meeting Feb. 13 in Indianapolis, Ind. On Feb. 14, the corporate membership will hold elections for two corporate directors. Terms set to expire in February include those of Jon-Erik Burleson, Assistant Treasurer, and John Ulrich, executive committee member.

AMA Board Of Directors
Stan Simpson, Chairman
South Central Region

Jon-Erik Burleson, Assistant Treasurer
KTM North America
Term expires February 2009

John Ulrich, Member, Executive Committee
Roadracing World Publishing, Inc.
Term expires February 2009

Jim Williams, Assistant Secretary
Kawasaki Motors Corp.
Term expires February 2010

Carl Reynolds
Southeast Region

Bill Werner
North Central Region
Term expires February 2010

Perry King
Northwest Region
Term expires February 2010

Erik Buell
Buell Motorcycle Co.
Term expires February 2010

Andy Goldfine
Term expires February 2011

Michael Lock
Ducati North America
Term expires February 2011

Art More
Southwest Region
Term expires February 2011

*Board seats currently open represent the Northwest Region and the North Central Region.

Votes cast in this most recent election were independently tabulated and the results certified by the accounting firm of Plante & Moran.