AMA Updates Endurocross

The AMA/Maxxis EnduroCross Championship Series, set to launch July 5 in Las Vegas, has been restructured in a move organizers say will make EnduroCross racing more affordable and appealing to amateur level racers.

The current cumulative national championship point's series will only apply to the premier Expert class; the support classes will now be part of the newly established AMA EnduroCross Grand Championships. AMA Grand Championships are typically used in amateur competition as they only require a racer to compete in two events (a Qualifier and Final) to win a National Championship and the coveted AMA No. 1 Plate.

The AMA EnduroCross Grand Championships will comprise EXGC Regional Qualifiers and the EXGC Finale for the following four (4) EXGC Classes: Open 2-Stroke, Open 4-Stroke, Vet +35, and TrialCross.

Each class will be a separate National Grand Championship and contesting riders will have to finish in either of the top two positions in an EXGC Regional Qualifier in order to be eligible to transfer to the EXGC Finale and a chance to win an AMA EnduroCross #1 Plate.

See the complete rules listing at

The AMA EnduroCross Grand Championships will be run in conjunction with the AMA/Maxxis EnduroCross Championship Series. The scheduled events are as follows:

July 5, Las Vegas, NV — Orleans Arena
Aug. 16, Guthrie, OK — Lazy E Arena
Sept. 13, Florence, SC — Civic Center
Sept. 27, Denver, CO — National Western Complex
Oct. 4, Columbus, OH — Ohio State University, Schottenstein Center
Nov. 21 & 22, Las Vegas, NV - Orleans Arena