Aprilia Big Winner in Daytona

Aprilia USA/Lloyd Brothers Motorsports remains the team to beat in the SunTrust MOTO-ST Series following their second straight victory in the Daytona 300 at Daytona International Speedway on March 2. To cap off the win, the Italian OEM also took home the lion's share of the hardware at the SunTrust MOTO-ST Series awards banquet held the prior evening at the speedway's Daytona 500 Club.

At the track, Ty Howard of Weatherford, Texas, and Mike Himmelsbach of Quakertown, Penn. rode the No. 1 Aprilia Tuono 1000R to a 4.573-second victory over the No. 75 Touring Sport Ducati 848 of Camarillo, Calif.'s Doug Polen and Columbia, S.C. racer Peter Friedland in the 108-lap race around Daytona's 2.90-mile road course.

At the banquet the prior evening — a celebration of the 2007 season — Aprilia scooped all three trophies in the Buell Motorcycle Company SuperSport Twins (SST) class. The team picked up three victories out of six races in 2007, enough to garner them the 2007 Manufacturers points championship, the Teams trophy, and the riders' points battle, with riders Troy Green and Ty Howard finishing 1-2, respectively.

"They say the best things in life happen by accident, and this whole team came together by accident," said team co-owner David Lloyd. "It's a great bunch of people, we made some great friends and we all worked hard together."

Aprilia Brand Manager Rick Panettieri accepted the Manufacturers Trophy on behalf of the company.

Touring Sport Ducati won the Teams championship in the BMW GrandSport Twins (GST) class and team rider Frank Shockley of Greenville, S.C. was the Riders champion aboard the squad's Ducati Supersport 1000.

Buell claimed the Manufacturers title in the GST class and Henry Duga accepted the Manufacturer trophy. "This blows me away. I'm impressed," Duga said. "This is the first time our company has received an award like this."

The Pair-A-Nines Kawasaki team topped the Riders and Teams points championships in the Sport Twins (ST) class in 2007. Sharing the team's Kawasaki EX650 Jay Springsteen of Lapeer, Mich. and Modesto, Calif.'s Jimmy Filice tied for the Riders championship.

Suzuki claimed the ST Manufacturers crown, with Steve Long of the SpeedWerks.com team accepting the award.

Roger Edmondson, president of the Grand American Road Racing Association and one of the founders of the SunTrust MOTO-ST Series, addressed guests at the awards banquet.

"Tonight is really special. I'm really blown away by this," Edmondson said. "We had a great year last year. We went through some tough times, but we came through it together. We are comrades, not adversaries. We're all in it together."

The SunTrust MOTO-ST Series is organized and sanctioned by Professional Motorsports Productions (PMP) of Toronto, Ontario, Canada and the Grand American Road Racing Association, based in Daytona Beach, Fla., provides the series with administrative and commercial support.