BRP Set To Continue Success In 2009 ATV Race Season

Publish Date: 
Jan 26, 2009

THE 2009 ATV RACING season is already underway and BRP is setting lofty goals for its Can-AmTM ATV racers and teams for this season. At the top of the list is championships. Last season, Can-Am racers took home championships in the WORCS, CMRC Canadian Nationals and the GNCC series. In all, racers claimed five championships across North America. It should be an exciting season as Can-Am continues to support ATV racing at both the local and national level.

“Our goal when racing any product line at BRP is to win races and championships,” says Del Bohlman, Racing Manager for Can-Am ATVs at BRP. “Our ATV racers and partner teams gave us our most successful ATV racing season last year and we are really looking forward to this season when we will continue where we left off. Our race teams are working hard right now to build upon the successes of this past season."

Like last season, Can-Am will field several teams out of four full-out racing semis. In all, there will be more than 30 Can-Am factory-sponsored racers in the WORCS, ITP Quadcross, CMRC, AMA ATV National Motocross Championship, Rock Maple Racing, Championship Mud Racing and GNCC series. Here is a list of the teams and lineups:

Team Warnert Racing/Can-Am
Warnert Racing will field riders in both the ITP Tires/Moose Racing AMA ATV Motocross Championship Presented by Parts Unlimited and the Can-Am Grand National Cross Country series. In the AMA series, both John Natalie (#13) and Cody Miller (#22) will race DS 450TM EFI ATVs against the top pros from around the world in the premier ATV Motocross championship on the planet. Last season, Natalie finished fifth overall with two moto wins during the season. His teammate, Miller, tied for tenth place in points with consistent finishes in the top 10.

In the GNCC series, Warnert Racing welcomes back Chris Bithell (#13) and has a new rider in the stable with Brent Sturdivant (#105). Both will race DS 450 ATVs in the XC1 Pro class against the top woods racers in the world. Bithell took the overall win at the Unadilla GNCC in 2008 and look forward to repeating the feat several times in 2009. Sturdivant will look to build upon the experience he gained last year on the DS 450.

Warnert also will support riders in the 4x4 classes as Bryan Buckhannon (#203), Michael Swift (#205) and Cliff Beasley (#208) will all race Can-Am OutlanderTM ATVs in the three 4x4 classes. Each of the three racers will be defending championships in their respective classes. They are: Buckhannon, 4x4 Open; Swift, 4x4 Limited and Beasley, 4x4 Lites.

In the U2 class, Rick Cecco (#221) will race a Can-Am Renegade 800 XTM in the class and looks to secure the first championship for the Renegade.

Team Motoworks/Can-Am
The Motoworks team moves east this year and takes on the AMA ATV Motocross Championship with Jeremy Lawson (#16) and Brandon Smith (#70) racing DS 450 ATVs out of the rig. Lawson will look to improve upon his fifth-place overall finish in 2008, and his teammate, Smith, is excited to bring experience in the ITP Quadcross Pro class east to take on the best ATV motocross racers on Earth.