Cleveland Ultimate Builder: 'Hashtag Hustler' award debuts

Publish Date: 
Feb 3, 2014

CLEVELAND -- The J&P Cycles Ultimate Builder Custom Bike Show at the Progressive International Motorcycle Show at the I-X Center in Cleveland had killer sleds from the Gas Box, Hoosier Daddy Choppers and Steele Kustoms, among others.

People’s Choice and the Hashtag Hustler were won by Gary Savill of Silver Wraith Choppers. The Hashtag Hustler is a new award with the builder winning a J&P Cycles $150 gift certificate for the best picture shot at the show using the using the #jpultimatebuilder hashtag.

SHO DOG Awards went to John Klimo of Cuyahoga Valley Custom Cycles, who received the Rocking K Custom Leathers chain wallet and Working Class Choppers takes the Garage Leathers Solo Bag. All award winners will receive a swag bag of Metal Rescue.

The Ultimate Builder competition is managed for the Motorcycle Shows by Bob Kay and Jeff Najar.

See all the J&P Cycles Ultimate Builder Custom Bike Show winners here.

FreeStyle Class

First Place: The Gas Box took its third FreeStyle win in as many years. Jesse Bassett, the owner of the Gas Box, has won with a BSA, Indian and now a BMW Boxer Bobber. The bike features a custom-made rigid frame and sheet metal. The 1983 mil sports 800cc and weber carbs.



Second place: Dennis Benefield and Dave Perewitz for "Doubletake," a 2009 Bobber.





Third place: Bill Steele of Steele Kustoms for "Grand Master," a 2005 Steele Kustom.





Modified Harley

First Place: The Hoosier Daddy Chopper’s "Firehouse Racer" took first. The 2013 Boardtracker features a Harley-Davidson 96 CI Twincam engine with hand-fabricated exhaust tipped with 1920s-era fire hose brass nozzles, S&S Carb and Ultima 2in belt drive. Illumination comes from a 1910 Jose Lucas Carbide headlight and an After Hours Choppers tail light. The leather seat is from Anvil Customs.


Second place: Bill Steele of Steele Kustoms for "HoneyBagger," a 2006 RoadGlide.





Third place: Sean Cortmilia of Afterlife Cycles for "Sinister," a 1977 Sportster.




More winners, continued on next page