MIC names Blackwell chairman, Burleson vice chair

Publish Date: 
Mar 28, 2013

IRVINE, Calif. — Mark Blackwell has been elected chair of the Motorcycle Industry Council's board of directors, the association announced. 

The MIC also named KTM North America President Jon-Erik Burleson vice chair. Eric Anderson and Tim Buche return as secretary/treasurer and president, respectively. 

“It is an honor for me to serve the industry as chair of the MIC,” Blackwell said. “This is a very exciting time for the industry and for the MIC. Although we certainly face many challenges, I believe the MIC’s work in providing valuable research, educational opportunities, and government relations and marketing support are all vital to our current and future success.”

Blackwell is currently vice president of special projects at Polaris Industries; he has served on the MIC board in various capacities since the 1980s. He succeeds outgoing chairman Larry Little, who remains a member of the MIC board.

KTM's Burleson (see image, right) has served on the MIC board since 2008 and is “very honored being elected vice chair,” he said. “I have nothing but respect and admiration for the other board members, their diligence and their dedication to MIC’s mission. In my new role, I look forward to helping further the efforts of the MIC and increasing my contributions to the board’s overall goals.”

Burleson served as a panelist during a discussion on OEM-Dealer Relations at the 2013 Dealer Expo.

The 2013 MIC Board of Directors also includes Bob Gurga of Honda, Steve Bortolamedi of Suzuki, Russ Brena of Kawasaki, Hans Blesse of BMW, Dennis McNeal of Yamaha, Frank Esposito of Kendon Industries, Steve Johnson of Tucker Rocky and Don Emde of Don Emde Inc.

Posted by Cynthia Furey