Motorcycle Hall of Fame Inducts New Members

Publish Date: 
Oct 10, 2007

Twelve new members were inducted into the Motorcycle Hall of Fame during an evening ceremony held Oct. 6 in Columbus, Ohio.

Rex Beauchamp, Bob Greene, Pat Hennen, Professor Harry Hurt, Mike Kiedrowski, Sammy Miller, Trampas Parker, Derek and Don Rickman, Orie Steele, Sr., Billy Uhl and Ed Waldheim are the newest additions to the Motorcycle Hall of Fame.

Mark Blackwell, VP of Victory Motorcycles and International Operations, Polaris Industries, served as the event?s emcee, presenting each inductee, or the representative of those who could not be present, with the gold Hall of Fame medal.

Families, friends, industry peers and past Hall of Fame inductees were present to celebrate the newest Hall-of-Famers. Stan Simpson, chairman of the American Motorcycle Heritage Foundation board of directors, says"The class of 2007 features racers, designers, a pioneering academic and a tireless activist. I am proud to welcome them to the Hall of Fame community."

Before the induction ceremony, the museum hosted its Sixth Annual Concours d'Elegance. More than 130 of the country's finest motorcycles filled the museum grounds in Pickerington, Ohio, for the event. The Jim Davis Best in Show award went to Peter Calles for his 1971 MV Augusta 750.

Next year, Hall of Fame weekend will be Oct. 3 and 4.