Motorcycle Safety Foundation Announces 2006 Award Winners

The Motorcycle Safety Foundation (MSF) has announced its 2006 award winners.

Each year MSF acknowledges outstanding achievement and excellence in rider education and training, honoring agencies, organizations, programs, dealers, the media and individuals who enhance motorcyclist safety.

"The awards are our way of providing recognition and a thank you to those dedicated, hard-working and often unsung champions of rider education and training," said Tim Buche, MSF president. "Whether the award recognizes an individual or an organization, behind it all you'll find people devoted to the common goal of motorcyclist safety."

The Motorcycle Safety Foundation Awards for 2006:

Award of Excellence: David Surgenor, PA
Outstanding State Program - Category III :Texas Department of Public Safety
Outstanding State Program - Category IV: Pennsylvania Motorcycle Safety Program
Outstanding RiderCoach Trainers: Carl D. Bennett, FL; Robert Frank, COOutstanding RiderCoaches:
  • James D. Baker, AL
  • Brian R. Butler, FL
  • Gary Harriman, IN
  • Timothy W. Imel, RAF Lakenheath, England
  • James W. Jensen, SD
  • Joseph K. Petersdorff, GA
  • Richard W. Randolph, AL
  • David D. Reel, IA
  • Steven W. Ridenhour, MO
  • Jon L. Rossi, FL
  • Steven E. Staples, TN
  • Lloyd Vanover, AR
Outstanding DirtBike School Coach Trainer: Kevin L. Frantum, CA
Outstanding RERP Sponsors: Community College of Southern Nevada; Virginia Western Community College; Florida Motorcycle Training of Lake County, Inc.

Outstanding Dealers/Retailers:
  • John's Honda, AR
  • Wild West Motorsports, AZ
  • Yamaha of San Antonio, TX
  • Ehlerding Motorsports, IN
  • Yeagers Cycle Sales, MO
Outstanding State Licensing Program: ABATE of Indiana, Inc.
Outstanding Licensing Examiners: Craig A. Houston, IN; Brian Scott Barker, IN
Outstanding Military Branch: The United States Air Force
Outstanding Military Bases: MCB Hawaii; Warner-Robins AFB, GA; MacDill AFB, FL
Outstanding Motorcycle Safety Support:
  • Don Gomo, NY
  • Becky Madigan, Deaf Community Services, IN
  • Dennis Morey, HI
  • Stanley Skipworth, AL
  • Heidi Heckman & Anne Frazier - Mohave Community College, AZ
  • Arizona Motorcycle Safety Advisory Council
  • Street Bikers United Hawaii
Outstanding Motorcycle Clubs: Motor City HOG Chapter #2368, MI; Texas Motorcycle Roadriders Association
Outstanding Media Award: Dave Kunz, KABC TV, CA; Penny Thornton, The Sentinel Record, AR; Bud Yoakum & Leslie Norem, Mission Critical Media, TXOutstanding Press Award: The United States Air Force Safety Center, NM

A multi-disciplinary evaluation committee of experienced motorcycle safety professionals selected the award winners from nominations received from the training community. The committee of eight included three MSF staff members and four state administrators — none from motorcyclist-funded, state-operated programs administered under contract by the MSF — and represented the collective experience of four RiderCoach Trainers and two RiderCoaches as well.

"The MSF is honored to provide a forum for peer review when it comes time to acknowledge those in the training community who give of their time and energy to enhance safety for riders," said Buche.