New Jersey has some new rules for PWC riders, passed recently in time for the impeding watersports season.
The law now prohibits operating a personal watercraft above minimum headway speed within 100 feet of buoys or signs that mark the boundaries of a swimming area, the shoreline, any person in the water, or homes.
The law also prohibits jumping a a craft within 100 feet of another vessel.
Existing laws already allowed operation only between sunrise and sunset and during times of good visibility. Operators must be at least 16 years of age, and must be carrying a boating safety certificate.
The New Jersey Boat Regulation Commission designated the entire width of the Shrewsbury River, between the Highlands Bridge and buoy 28 (near Gunning Island), a slow speed/no wake area, according to My Central Jersey.
Posted by Holly Wagner