Ringers Gloves Pro Bike Battle 2007 Season Wrap-Up

Ringers Gloves has announced the the Ringers Gloves Pro Bike Battle points lineup heading into the bike season opener at Gainesville 2008, and the POWERade NHRA Drag Racing Series Pro Stock Motorcycle class.

Chip Ellis, who is without a ride for the 2008 season, sits atop of the Ringers Gloves Pro Bike Battle points. While Ellis had numerous No. 1 qualifying spots, he failed to pick up a win on the season.

Andrew Hines sits in the number two position, 30 points behind Ellis. Hines picked up five wins throughout the season (Chicago, Norwalk, Brainerd, Memphis, and two in Vegas), the most of any other rider for the year.

En route to his first Pro Stock Motorcycle championship, Matt Smith drove his Torco Race Fuels/S&S Buell to four wins in 2007, including the win that gave him his championship at Pomona in November. Other wins on the season include St. Louis, Denver and Sonoma. Smith sits third in Battle points, 120 behind Ellis.

Lady rider Peggy Llewellyn competed in her first full season of POWERade competition since the six races she ran in 2001. She finished fourth in the Championship points before being released by team owner Karl Klement in early December. Llewellyn also sits fourth in Battle points. She picked up her first career win in front of her home crowd in Dallas in September. She, like Ellis, is playing the waiting game on a ride for next season.

Ringers Gloves Pro Bike Battle Points as of Dec. 27, 2007:

1. Chip Ellis, 855
2. Andrew Hines, 825
3. Matt Smith, 735
4. Peggy Llewellyn, 700
5. Angelle Sampey, 665
6. Hector Arana, 655
7. Eddie Krawiec, 610
8. Craig Treble, 610

The Ringers Gloves Pro Bike Battle is a specialty race held at Indianapolis during the U.S. Nationals in September. The top eight riders who accumulate the most points from Indianapolis the previous year to Memphis in the current year earn a spot to battle for the top prize of $25,000.

The Pro Stock Motorcycle season kicks off at the ACDelco Gatornationals at Gainesville Raceway (Fla.), March 13-16, 2008.