Skagit PS Wins Dealer of the Year


Skagit Powersports, a multiline dealership in Burlington, Wash., north of Seattle, was named the 2010 Dealer of the Year during the Top 100 Awards Ceremony held last evening in the Indiana Convention Center.

Skagit owner Bill Cameron was on-hand to accept the trophy and the winner’s rings from Dealernews editor-in-chief Dennis Johnson and last year’s Dealer of the Year, Malcolm Smith. Yamaha executive Maurice “Mo” Murray also was on hand to congratulate Cameron and his team.

Skagit received the highest scores during the six-week-long judging process. Judges commended the Ducati/Kawasaki, KTM/KYMCO/Moto Guzzi/Suzuki/Yamaha dealership for excellence across all major categories: merchandising, business plan, service, employee incentives, customer service, community involvement, marketing/promotion and website.

Skagit received special mention by the judges for its commitment to the off-road riding market in the Pacific Northwest, and for an online film festival featuring Yamaha motorcycles, and aftermarket prizes courtesy Parts Unlimited and Tucker Rocky. The film festival, which enabled enthusiasts to upload short videos to the dealership website, received submissions from as far away as New Zealand, according to Cameron.

First runner-up was Rexburg Motor Sports of Rexburg, Idaho, a dealership that also walked away with two other Merit Award prizes last evening.

Bob Weaver Motorsports & Marine, North Tonawanda, N.Y., was named second-runner up, and PowerSports of Joplin in Missouri received third runner-up honors.

Doug Douglas Motorcycles, a small Triumph shop in San Bernadino, Calif., was given the new Editor’s Choice Award by Johnson. “It was the most heartfelt award entry I’d ever read,” said Johnson. “It spoke directly to what the Top 100 competition is all about.”

The Merit Award for Outstanding Community Involvement was given to A.D. Farrow Co. Harley-Davidson from Sunbury/Columbus, Ohio, for its long-standing involvement and dedication to our nation’s military and veterans.

The Merit Award for Best Website was given to Rick Fairless (sort of – he couldn’t be in Indy so he sent a cardboard cutout to accept on his behalf) for the Strokers Dallas website.

The Merit Award for Best Store Exterior was bestowed upon newcomer Indian Motorcycle Charlotte of Lowell, N.C., which beat House of Harley-Davidson and Rick Roush MotorSports for the honor.

The Merit Award for Best Merchandising Display was given to Bob Weaver Motorsports & Marine (also the second runner-up to the Dealer of the Year).

The Merit Award for Best Use of Space, given to dealerships or stores of less than 8,500 square feet, was won by Ducati Omaha.

The Merit Award for Best Promotion went to Rexburg Motor Sports (also the first runner-up to Skagit), for its Big Bear Outlet department.

The Merit Award for Best Event went to Renegade Harley-Davidson of Alexandria, La., for a month-long celebration of Black History.

The Merit Award for Best Store Theme went to Rick Fairless Strokers Dallas (who again accepted in cardboard). Fairless beat out Central Texas Powersports and Myers-Duren Harley-Davidson for the honor.

The Merit Award for Best Media Campaign was given to McGrath Powersports of Cedar Rapids, Iowa, for its test-ride media campaign with local radio DJs.

The Merit Award for Best Customer Service Program was won by Signature Harley-Davidson of Perrysburg, Ohio. Judges were impressed by one simple program initiated by the dealerhip: it has a leather repair expert to perform onsite gear and saddlebag repairs on Saturdays.

The Merit Award for Best Employee Incentive Program went to World of Powersports, Decatur, Illinois, for its education reimbursement program.

The Merit Award for Best Service Department went to Rexburg, which beat Nebraska’s Kearney Yamaha for the top honor.

Top 10 Dealers – the 10 highest-scoring dealerships for the 2010 competition – were (in alphabetical order) Bayside Harley-Davidson, Portsmouth, Va.; Bob Weaver Motorsports & Marine; Charlie’s Harley-Davidson, Huntington, W.Va.; Grand Prix Motorsports, Littleton, Colo.; Kearney Yamaha; Mike Bruno’s Bayou Country Harley-Davidson, Houma, La.; PowerSports of Joplin; Rexburg Motor Sports; Skagit Powersports; and Steve Seltzer Honda, Altoona, Pa.

The Top 100 Dealers are posted on and may be viewed in the Top 100 Galleries this weekend in the Serpentine Lobby and near the New Exhibitor Pavilion.