Wilsons, Harden, Flanders and others receive AMA recognition

Publish Date: 
Feb 6, 2014

PICKERINGTON, Ohio -- Mike and Margaret Wilson have been given the Dud Perkins Lifetime Achievement Award by the American Motorcyclist Association.

The award, the most prestigious of the six national awards conferred by the AMA board of directors, was given to the Wilsons for their lifelong commitment to fostering growth and acceptance of motorcycling, and their dedication to the AMA and its hall of fame.

Mike and Margaret Wilson, both individual AMA hall of famers, served on the board of directors of the American Motorcycle Heritage Foundation, which raises funds for the Hall of Fame, and are among the foundation's principal benefactors. The Wilsons commissioned and donated the bronze sculpture, "Glory Days," which graces the Hall of Fame's display area and serves as its official logo.

Mike has also helped design and development of displays at the museum, the AMA noted. Margaret, a longtime member of the Motor Maids, has ridden her motorcycles more than 550,000 miles and is an enthusiastic supporter and promoter of women's motorcycling clubs and events. She was awarded the AMA Bessie Stringfield Award in 2003.

This year's Bessie Stringfield Award, which recognizes efforts to introduce motorcycling to new or underserved markets, was given to Scot Harden and Zero Motorcycles for their pioneering work in the field of electric motorcycles. Harden, AMA said, has been instrumental in reaching out to motorcyclists young and old, experienced and novice, to gain acceptance of the newest way to get around on two wheels.

The Hazel Kolb Brighter Image Award, which salutes individuals who have generated positive publicity for motorcycling, was given to the production and directorial teams of two motorcycling films: James Walker, Bryan H. Carroll and Chris Hampel of "Why We Ride," and Matt Greenstone of "Road Warriors, The Bleeding Edge of Motorcycle Racing."

The 2014 Outstanding Road Rider Award recipient, AMA Life Member Donald L. Green, was honored for his efforts to train armed forces personnel at Fort Knox in Kentucky and his commitment to the Kentucky Motorcycle Rider Education Program. Green has successfully trained more than 3,000 students, conducted 111 Basic RiderCourses, 51 Basic RiderCourses2, 19 Military Sportsbike RiderCourses and 5 Advance RiderCourses.

The Outstanding Off-Road Rider Award highlights the achievements of an individual who has contributed to the promotion of the motorcycling lifestyle and the protection of off-highway motorcycling. For 2014, the award was presented to two life members of AMA District 37 in Southern California, Jim Pilon and Paul Flanders. Their dual-sport committee successfully organized and now maintains and promotes one of the world's best known dual-sport events, the LA-Barstow to Vegas Dual Sport Tour, or LA-B-to-V. Launched in 1984, the more than 400-mile tour typically starts after Thanksgiving and has routes for dual sport, adventure touring, vintage bikes, sidehacks and small displacement machines.

The 2014 Friend of the AMA Award recognizes the innovative work of Plainfield, Indiana's Roy Garrett. As an AMA Life Member and member of ABATE of Indiana DIRT, Garrett has been a fixture in the off-highway riding community for his many years of promoting responsible off-highway recreation. In acknowledging Garrett with this award, the AMA said it was impressed by the ability of Indiana's on- and off-highway clubs and organizations to work together to protect the riding freedoms of all of the state's riders.

"I joined the AMA in 1970 when I started racing motorcycles," said Garrett. "I started working club and district business in 1983. I was an AMA congressman in the late eighties. The AMA helped us start DIRT in 1994. I have been the president or vice president since it started. I am currently the off-road director for ABATE of Indiana DIRT, and the road captain for Stoney Lonesome M/C. I am very pleased and honored to receive this award from the AMA."

For more information about the AMA Awards Program, to see past recipients and learn how to nominate individuals for future consideration, please visit www.americanmotorcyclist.com/about/amaawardsprogram.