Yamaha Motor Corp., U.S.A., Announces 2009 Factory Race Teams

Publish Date: 
Nov 14, 2008

YAMAHA MOTOR CORP., U.S.A., is proud to announce the 2009 Yamaha Factory Race Teams. Yamaha, a leader in the motorsports market, announced its official race teams today for American Superbike and Daytona Sportbike road racing, Supercross/Motocross off-road racing, ATV cross country and motocross racing and Snocross racing. The announcement was made at Yamaha’s corporate headquarters this morning in Cypress, Calif.

“Yamaha is excited to announce our 2009 Factory Race Teams across all of the thrilling motorsports that we support,” said Keith McCarty, Yamaha’s racing division manager. “From top talent to up-and-comers, these riders have proven that they have what it takes to compete at the highest levels. Yamaha is a leader in racing technology and innovation, and we’re proud to support these riders and have them represent our brand.”

Yamaha Factory Road Racing:
Yamaha’s 2009 Road Race team includes returning riders Ben Bostrom and Josh Herrin, who are joined by new members Josh Hayes and Tommy Aquino.

Fresh off the 2008 AMA Supersport Championship, Ben Bostrom will compete on the all new cross plane crankshaft YZF-R1 prepared by Yamaha Factory Racing in the American Superbike class. Joining Bostrom on the YZF-R1 is multi-time Formula Extreme Champion Josh Hayes.

Competing in the AMA Daytona Sportbike Championship will be third year professional Josh Herrin aboard the Graves Motorsports prepared YZF-R6, and Tommy Aquino, the 2008 AMA Road Race Rookie of the Year.

Yamaha Factory Supercross/Motocross:
The Yamaha Factory Supercross/Motocross team includes Broc Hepler, Josh Hill and Grant Langston. Both Hill and Hepler are eager to begin the new season after strong finishes in 2008, and Langston plans to mentor the young riders as a team advisor until a vision problem improves.

Team L&M/San Manuel Band of Mission Indians made one of the biggest moves of the off season signing James Stewart to ride under their tent. In 2008 Stewart had a perfect outdoor season, a U.S. Open victory and a dominating Bercy Supercross performance. Fellow Floridian Kyle Chisholm moves up to the 450 Class as the team’s second rider.

After a solid freshman effort the Joe Gibbs’ Racing/Spike Energy/Toyota team has signed Josh Grant and New Zealander Cody Cooper to lead their 2009 charge.

For the 2009 season, Star Racing will be Yamaha’s official 250F team. Having worked together since 2005, Star Racing has proven itself a legitimate competitor and a great ambassador for the Yamaha brand. The team will consist of Matt Lemoine, Broc Tickle, Darryn Durham and Michael Hall.