MIC re-elects BMW exec to board, new vote planned for aftermarket candidates

  • Press Release
  • Nov 14, 2017

IRVINE, CA - The Motorcycle Industry Council re-elected Michael Peyton, vice president of BMW Motorrad North America, to its 2018 Board of Directors. This is Peyton's second two-year term on the MIC board.

“We are certainly in interesting and challenging times, and now more than ever the MIC is focused on the most critical topics that affect our industry. I’m honored to represent my peers, and all those throughout the industry, as we work to grow the sport and the overall business," Peyton stated.

The MIC board still lacks two representatives from the aftermarket/allied trades, as a first ballot did not receive the required majority vote. A second ballot is being held this month. Nominees are Eric Anderson, Vroom Network; Sean Finley, Digital Throttle; Robin Hartfiel, Motorcycle & Powersports News; Jeff Littlejohn, DX1; Mark Tuttle, Rider Magazine/EPG Media; and Jim Woodruff, National Powersport Auctions. MIC members with voting status and who paid their 2017 dues in full by Sept. 2 are eligible to vote.

The MIC Board consists of 12 directors: seven represent motorcycle manufacturers, importers or distributors, and five represent aftermarket and allied trades members. Six directors are appointed by OEM/distributor members which pay maximum dues (Honda, Kawasaki, KTM, Polaris, Suzuki and Yamaha), and the remaining six are elected by MIC members.

The Motorcycle Industry Council is hosting its annual Communications Symposium Nov. 15 in Carson, CA.

Add New Comment